FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Students must be at least 14 years and 8 months old by the first day of class in order to attend.
Segment 1 consists of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours on-the-road instruction, and 4 hours of observation. If you are under the age of 18 you are required to take Segment I by the State of Michigan in order to receive a Level 1 Learner's License.
- Photocopy of their birth certificate
- Segment 1 Permission Slip (Download Here)
- Payment for the class (cash, personal check, or money order)
- Notebook and pen/pencil
Students must possess a valid Level 1 Learner's License for a minimum of 3 months and have completed at least 30 hours of on-the-road driving with parents. At least 2 of the 30 hours must be night time driving.
Segment 2 consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction. The course will discuss defensive driving, drinking and driving, road rage, and will help to prepare the student for their Road Test. If you are under the age of 18 you are required to take Segment 2 by the State of Michigan in order to be eligible for a Road Test.
- Level 1 Learner's License
- Driving Log showing 30 hours
- Segment 2 Permission Slip (Download Here)
- Payment for the class (cash or money order)
- Notebook and pen/pencil
Everyone is eligible to take Segment 2 from Courtesy Driving School no matter where you took Segment 1.
Students are eligible to take the Road Test once they have held their Level 1 Learner's License for 6 months or more, have completed the Segment 2 course, and have driven the required 50 hours on-the-road driving with parents (at least 10 hours must be night time driving).
Rental vehicles are offered at our Lake Orion, Rochester and Waterford testing sites for an additional fee.
Yes, as long as you have met all the requirements for the Road Test you can take the test prior to your 16th birthday. However, you are not eligible to visit Secretary of State and apply for your license until your 16th birthday.
Click here for a list of documents to bring to your Road Test.
No, we do not permit practicing at our Road Testing sites.
The parent/legal guardian can designate a family member or someone else to bring the child to the Road Test. Click here for the list of what is required in this situation.
Click here to download the Michigan License System.
Students under the age of 18 are required by the State of Michigan to take both Segment 1, Segment 2, and a Road Test. The entire process will take 7 or more months to complete.
In the event that the school at which we teach your driver education class closes due to inclement weather, driver education classes will be cancelled. Please attend the next scheduled day of driver education class in which your school is open. If there is inclement weather and your driver education class is held at a location other than a school facility, please contact our Main Office to see if your driver education class has been cancelled.
Our vehicles are all midsize, four-door, American-made vehicles which receive regular maintenance. The vehicles are equipped with an instructor brake pedal and rearview mirror.
Classroom sessions are available for adults (18 and older) at a discounted rate. The sessions are helpful for those who wish to prepare for the written exam at Secretary of State. Private lessons are available for adults (18 and older) who have a current Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP), with pick up and drop off at home available. Click here for more information.